11 Comments

Whew, what a ride!

 

Whew, what a ride!  It has been interesting journey with this class.  I have learned so much, but I still have so much to learn.  I was put on an amazing team that was the best support I could have ever wanted.  We worked really well with each other and made sure we were there for each other.

This class reinforced my belief that if students are engaged in learning they learn!  I took over for a teacher who had 30-plus years in education.  However, most of the students had checked out of their own education.  They were bored and hated English.

I am very thankful that I have a daughter who is a digital native.  First thing out of her mouth, Mom, please remember that kids are different today.  I really realized that the first week as I watched my students use their phones more than they wanted to read a book.  Then, we had a discussion about cell phone privacy.  Bingo! 1984 by George Orwell’s “Big Brother is Watching” theme came to my mind.

I spent many weeks not teaching but facilitating students teaching themselves using George Orwell’s book that dealt with technology and invasion of technology.  My daughter came and taught us how to do Prezis.   Things took off from there concerning technology.  They loved every minute being able to use technology to present learned knowledge.  I spoke their language, and they flourished.

This class has solidified how important it is to reach these kids.  It will not be with pencil and pen.  I have to speak their language, the language of digital natives, also known as technology.  The rest will be history.

 

 

PPhotos courtesy of Google Images

11 comments on “Whew, what a ride!

  1. Cynthia,
    I really like how you let your enthusiasm show in your blogs. Being earnest about connecting with your students is a rich and wise quality for a great teacher to possess. Despite my perspective of being skeptical about how much technology we should use and in which ways it should be used, I am very open to receiving your pleasant reports of how it is currently working in your professional experiences, and that the results are promising for reaching students who are otherwise uninvested in their own educations. Another great point you make is the facilitation of the ability for students to teach themselves. This is a profound reflection, because education should be all about the desire to learn, and that desire is lacking necessary luster if the learner is not driving it. Great Learning with and from you through this class, it has been a pleasure sharing our virtual connections and reflections:)

  2. Cynthia I was privileged to see you in action in your classroom! Your students adore you AND they have fun in your class. You gave them the freedom to use tools they know and like (Prezi, cell phone, etc.) to get them engaged. Funny, all the things we learned in this class! Your daughter is so right, students ARE different today. I am still trying to wrap my brain around that and think if new ways to present material.

  3. It is great to see that our future students are in such great hands when we see passionate teachers like this!:) Like you have said throughout the quarter technology is our future and we can embrace it to make the classroom even stronger.

    Students are already using this education, so why not indeed use it with them to encourage learning? Not restricting them in what they can use, but to show them how it can be used to make learning not only easier but more fun for them as well. I will have to see if you continue making blogs so I can follow how you are using these new technologies in your classroom. For I am sure that I will be able to learn new ways to implement my subject matter with your ideas!:)

  4. Cynthia,
    You seems to make educations fun for your students, and that is great to see in a teacher. You have so many great ideas and you have shared them with all of us during the term. Great job.
    Claudia

  5. Cindy,
    It was a joy working with you. You are a lucky mom because your daughter is a digital native with the patience to teach. I liked your webquest which would have definitely engaged me during English. I remember thinking that the concept of ”1984” sounded interesting but i could never get into it so i stopped reading. I think technology would have been perfect for engaging students. The tools we learned to use in this course will be very useful.

  6. What a ride is right! It was a great one though. This class gave Sp Ed teachers some more tools to help reach out and assist our students. From the insight you have given this class about the successes of introducing what you learned from the class to your class, I can tell you have been able to change some of your students for the better and that will forever stay with them.

  7. I agree so much with what your classmates have said, Cindy. Your students are so incredibly fortunate to have you, your willingness to learn and try new things, your dedication to their growth, your passion for what you do, and your incredible ability to pull it all together into a classroom that inspires those kids on whom most have given up. It has been a delight for me to watch you immediately implementing everything you were learning along the way. You are an inspiration to me, Cindy. Keep doing what you’re doing…you are what this profession is all about!

    Jessica

Comments are closed.

